An aerial view of Castries, the capital of St Lucia. (Photo: LinkedIn: Invest St Lucia)

St Lucia to lift curfew on Friday

An aerial view of Castries, the capital of St Lucia. (Photo: LinkedIn: Invest St Lucia)

The St Lucia government says it will lift the curfew that was imposed as part its COVID-19 prevention measures on Friday.

St Lucia will lift its curfew on Friday, July 10.

Prime Minister Allen Chastanet made the announcement on Monday night, when he updated the island on the government’s pandemic response that infected 22 people but no deaths.

Flanked by his Tourism Minister, Dominic Fedee and the Chief Medical Officer, Dr Sharon Belmar-George, Chastanet said “as of July 10 we no longer will have curfew hours in St Lucia”.

He also announced other measures, which he said would also come into effect as of July 10.

Prime Minister of St Lucia Allen Chastanet

Chastanet said they include the reopening of cinemas with proper protocols, the reopening of childhood development centres with protocols and the allowing of sports tournaments and contact sports with protocols for spectators.

However, the total number of persons who will be allowed is 200, regardless of how large the sports facility is and that the attendees will be required to observe social distancing.

Chastanet said regarding the reopening of the borders, it has been the most difficult decision he has had to make during his four years in office.

St Lucia re-opened its international airport on June 4 and the government said it was introducing several new and updated protocols for arrivals from July 9.

Travellers will be required to obtain a negative PCR (Polymerised Chain Reaction) test within seven days of travel unless they are arriving from countries in the Travel Bubble designated by the St Lucia government.

It said visitors traveling only from destinations that have zero or a low instance of COVID-19 cases will be exempt from the seven-day pre-testing requirement.

These destinations currently include Antigua, Barbuda, Aruba, Anguilla, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Bonaire, British Virgin Islands, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Barthelemy, St Kitts-Nevis, St Martin, St Vincent and the Grenadines, St Martin, Trinidad and Tobago and Turks and Caicos. Visitors with a travel history from these areas in the last 14 days will also be exempt from quarantine.

The government said that all returning citizens and residents must also complete the Pre-Arrival registration form.

“On arrival, they are required to quarantine for 14 days at a pre-approved home quarantine address, Government operated quarantine facility or a COVID-19 certified property”