Red Stripe wins big at Jamaica Manufacturers’ and Exporters’ Awards

Red Stripe, part of the Heineken Company, walked away the big winner at the Jamaica Manufacturers’ and Exporters’ Association (JMEA) Awards Gala on Saturday.

Minister of Industry, Commerce, Agriculture and Fisheries,  Audley Shaw (2nd right) presents the Prime Minister’s Award for  top large manufacturing exporter to Managing Director, Red Stripe, Luis Prata at the JMEA Awards Banquet . (Photo: JIS)

Red Stripe copped three of the evening’s awards, including the prestigious The Prime Minister’s Award for Top Large Manufacturing Exporter. Its other wins came in the categories The Vision 2030 Award for Corporate Social Responsibility and The Robert Lightbourne Award for Productivity and Competitiveness. Its competitor, J. Wray and Nephew, also had much to celebrate with two wins for The Jamaica Public Service Award for Energy Efficiency and the coveted The Governor General’s Award for Exporter of the Year.

Other double winners included Technological Solutions Limited for the Pauline Grey Award for Best Support Service and The JAMPRO Award for Champion Small Services Exporter and Caribbean Foods Limited which had victories in The Ray Hadeed Award for Best Small and Medium Sized Enterprise and The JAMPRO Award for Champion Small Manufacturing Exporter.

Governor-General Sir Patrick Allen (left) presents the Governor General’s Award for manufacturer of the year to Chief Executive Officer, Wisynco Group, Andrew Mahfood at the JMEA Awards Banquet. (Photo: JIS)

The event heralds the start of Manufacturers Month and was host to some 500 people at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel ballroom in Kingston.  

The night’s other winners were:

  • The Nicola Gordon-Rowe Buy Jamaican Award: – National Rums of Jamaica;
  • The National Certification Body of Jamaica (NCBJ) Award for Quality and Standards – Nestlé  Jamaica;
  • Best New Packaging Award – The Best Dressed Chicken;
  • The JMEA Legacy Award – Seprod Limited;
  • The Ambassador Peter King Award for New Exporter of the Year – Shavuot International Holdings;
  • The Eddie Hall Award for New Manufacturer of the Year – Morgan’s Creek;
  • The Charles Henderson Award for Breakthrough Product of the Year – Newport Fersan Jamaica Limited;
  • The President’s Award for Champion Medium Manufacturing Exporter – Jamaican Teas Limited; and
  • The Governor General’s Award for Manufacturer of the Year – WISYNCO Group Limited

Thirty-three exporters and manufacturers were nominated across 18 categories from an initial field of more than 100 entries.