Bermuda bans visitors from four countries

Bermuda has banned visitors from four countries as the emerging threat of the novel coronavirus continues to play out in the region, with more than half a dozen countries now reporting at least one confirmed case.

Bermuda banned visitors from some of the worst hit countries including China.

The nation’s Ministry of Health has barred visitors from China, Iran, Italy and parts of South Korea, countries where the virus has wreaked havoc.

A statement from the ministry said, “Last night the Minister of Health used powers under Section 9 of the Quarantine Act 2017 to instate a travel ban disallowing entry to visitors travelling from the four countries where there is sustained community spread of Covid-19: China, Iran, Italy, Republic of Korea: Daegu or Cheongdo. The list will be reviewed on an ongoing basis as the situation evolves.”

Tourist guides with the Seoul Metropolitan Government stand in Namdaemun Market in Seoul, South Korea, on Thursday, March 5, 2020.

Bermuda has had no confirmed cases of the coronavirus.

A private jet, travelling from Zurich, Switzerland, to Massachusetts, whose crew had a travel itinerary that included Italy, landed in Bermuda, refuelled and continued its journey, but officials said no individual disembarked during its stay and that a cruise ship that was due to include a stop in Bermuda later this month has been cancelled.

The Divina was scheduled to arrive at Dockyard at the island’s west end on March 26 for a 24-hour visit.

“MSC Divina’s Grand Voyage from Miami, March 20, to Genoa, April 7, has been cancelled,” a spokeswoman for MSC Cruises said, adding “MSC Cruises has revised its itineraries for its ships that were due to call at Italian ports in connection with the Italian government’s decision on March 9 to introduce further strict measures that have impacted the country as the Covid-19 coronavirus public health emergency continues to evolve.

People wearing protective masks walk at Hong Kong Station of MTR in Hong Kong, China, on Tuesday, Feb.11, 2020.

“Some ship itineraries have changed up until April 3, the date set by the Italian government for emergency coronavirus measures, and in some instances beyond this date.”

Cuba, Jamaica, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Dominican Republic and Trinidad and Tobago are among the regional countries that have reported confirmed cases.